Newsroom Update

Tap to Pay on iPhone is now available in Canada. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone 4S stuck in recovery mode after trying to update to iOS 7.

After trying several different things, I still cannot get my phone out of recovery mode. I'm studying abroad and would very much like to not be stuck in Belgium without a phone. I also don't want to go buy a new one if there's a fix for this. I have tried everything from modifying hosts to using TinyUmbrella and it still will not restore. Any ideas?

iPhone 4S, iOS 6.1.4

Posted on Sep 25, 2013 8:13 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 25, 2013 8:18 AM

1) Plug your iPhone into the computer.

2) Hold home and power buttons simultaneously for 15 seconds,

3) release home button, but continue to hold power button for 2 seconds.

This process often will force boot your device.

Hope this helps.

27 replies

Sep 25, 2013 8:26 AM in response to JD2015

It took me speaking with 2 tech support and 2 trips to the apple store. The last time, when the tech restored, it came back to OS 6.1. When I got home, I connected to itunes and phone was recognized. Was able to sync to what I had backed up to my computer and then Icloud.

OS 7 automatically downloaded to my Iphone (4S) but I did not installed it.

Phone is now working perfectly on OS 6.1

Sep 25, 2013 8:40 AM in response to JD2015

1) Download iOS 6.1.3. (If you have in on your computer already then drag and drop it to your desktop.)

• if you don't have it then download it here: http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/

2) Go to iTunes, then to your iPhone.

3) Hold shift and click restore.

4) Use the pop-up-box to navigate to the location of IOS 6.1.3

5) Double click the IOS.

iTunes should now start to restore the iPhone. The same process can be done by hold shift button and clicking update, instead of restore.

Oct 28, 2013 7:03 PM in response to JD2015