Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

drag and drop in iphoto library

My MacBookPro from 2006 died this week so I got a new 2013 MacBookAir. I am a digital artist and my iphoto library contains over 13000 images in it which I work with daily. I had them in a specific order but when the files were all loaded onto my new Mac they are all in a huge jumble. I'm at wits end trying to figure out how to make sense of them. In my old iphoto I could drag and drop them wherever I wanted them. I'm not sure what I'm doing now. I don't seem to be able to drag and drop in the library like I used to. I used to ignore the events thing, I didn't like it. Now it seems like events are more important. I was trying to work with them but I have 13000 events too - I started out trying to merge them but it will take forever. This is a real problem for me, for one thing I had them ordered by what rights I had purchased and where I got them from - that's all lost now but I would at least like to get them in order of subject. Any help out there? Maureen

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5), receipt just says OS-X

Posted on Oct 1, 2013 7:36 PM

7 replies

Oct 1, 2013 7:41 PM in response to wyattwesley

It sounds like you made a major mistake and imported your old iPhoto library into your new one - NEVER import an iPhoto library into another iPhoto library