Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Importing miniDV files losslessly

Hi,

I have an old Sony TCR-TRV11 Camcorder that uses miniDV cassettes for recording video. I have recently imported all of them thorugh firewire 800 via iMovie '11 as .dv files into the iMovie Events folder. Is there a way to convert those .dv files losslessly into .mov? I have done research and learned that you can use MPEG Streamclip to do the conversion process, but I'm not sure what settings to use because I'm not really a pro at this stuff. Is there data loss when converting using software like MPEG streamclip? Is it better if I get Final Cut Express and import from the camcorder again, this time directly into the .mov container file format? And if I purchase a used copy of Final Cut Express, will it work on my computer? I just want to preserve all my old videos without losing any detail/information.

Thanks!

iMovie '11, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Oct 3, 2013 3:04 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 3, 2013 5:33 PM

http://www.apple.com/au/finalcutpro/

Above is a free trial for the Apple NLE that is supported by your OS 10.8.4.

Give it a try.

I can confirm it will capture your DV files from miniDV tape.

FCE is no longer supported using Mountain Lion and while some users get it to work others have grief.

I'm not an iMovie user but I belieive that version of iMovie drops a field and would re-capture using either FCE or FCP X, whichever you choose to work with.

Also iMovie uses a multiplexed audio method while FCE/X uses discrete audio and video.

As mentioned the free trail trial of X would be my first option.

BTW: do you have a large external drive to act as a Scratch Disc?

This is wise when capturing large amounts of video files.

Al

39 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 3, 2013 5:33 PM in response to Chief Tarun

http://www.apple.com/au/finalcutpro/