Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Airport Extreme Poor Range

I have an Airport Extreme which is at one end of my single floor condo. The building does not have a lot of steel...it is all wood. The wireless range does not extend into my bedroom at the other end of the condo, which is less than 50 feet away. It occasionally reaches, but the connection keeps dropping. Any suggestions? Are there settings I need to adjust? Please note that I am not tech savvy, so if you reply, please assume total ignorance of any technical terms. 🙂 Thank you!

Airport Extreme-OTHER, Windows 7

Posted on Oct 4, 2013 5:38 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 4, 2013 6:03 AM

There are no settings to really improve range..

Apple sell express but you can also use another Extreme as a repeater, located inbetween your bedroom and the current extreme location..

Wireless range can be affected by metal like insulation not just steel.. or pipes or wires.. or dampness.. there are many things that can block the signal.. if you have a laptop load a wireless analysis program.. eg for windows you use INSSIDer and do a wireless survey around the condo and see where the signal is disappearing.. sometimes you will find small changes in location make a big difference.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 4, 2013 6:03 AM in response to windsurfrgal

There are no settings to really improve range..

Apple sell express but you can also use another Extreme as a repeater, located inbetween your bedroom and the current extreme location..