Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

transferring photos to my passport

Hi, I'm running out of space on my macbook pro and bought a "my passport". I'm trying to transfer my photos and videos from iPhoto to it but can't. I've read the iPhoto threads but don't understand how to follow the instructions. I'm wondering if there's something wrong with the passport because I can't drag ANYTHING over to it, not even small word docs. Does it need to be formatted first? How do I do this (Please spell it out as I'm not a techie person)? Once formatted, how do I find my library to drag it over? There is nothing on my Finder that says "My Pictures".

Also is it possible to drag iMovies over to the passport as well? How is this done?

Thank you so much!

Rick

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Oct 6, 2013 7:40 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 29, 2015 9:14 AM

MacBook Air OS X Version 10.9.5

If you ordered a “My Passport for MAC”, chances are the WD external drive has been pre-formatted/compatible to work with your Mac/Apple device including Mac/Apple’s Time Machine app that allows you to back up your information, pics, media, ect.

If your not sure, be safe call WD’s (Western Digital Technologies) support service line (USA To Call) or specifically pick your product 1st & solve online, which will depend on your area/country. However, these are the steps they will take you through to confirm that your computers info has indeed been backed up. I just got off the phone with them to get help with your exact question :-) LOL.

I purchased Western Digital My Passport 1 TB Portable Hard Drive for Mac, Silver by Western Digital

During the 1st use which can take hrs if you computer’s disc is full (mine took 3-6 hrs), “My Passport for Mac” backs up EVERYTHING on your computer. To check,

go to Finder,

Click on the icon of a hard drive saying “My Passport for Mac”.