Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I merge the photos from all libraries I've created into a single library?

The five libraries I made are on an external drive and my MacBookPro. I want to consilidate them all into one library on an external drive. I originaly made this choice because I thought it would be easier to find what I was looking for by using different libraries but have now realised it would be easier to do so using projects. I am new to Aperture so any suggestions for keeping things organized would be much appreciated.

Aperture 3, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5), Aperture 3.4.5

Posted on Oct 7, 2013 2:03 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 7, 2013 6:21 PM

Are the libraries all descended from a common root or are they really a bunch of separate libraries. If they are separate then you can add the libraries together.

The command to use is File->Import->Library. If the originals are all managed then my suggested workflow would be to:

Pick one of the libraries as the starting point. If you do not have a good backup of this library create one now. Run a library repair on this library.

While it will add time to the process I also suggest you run a library repair on each of the other libraries before importing them. This step is optional but will greatly reduce the chance of getting hung up during the import process.

Now with the first library open run the command File->Import->Library selecting one of the other libraries. Then move on to the next library. I suggest that you run a library repair between imports on the library you are importing into. Again it is optional but will reduce the chances for problems. Of course you can be flexible here. If some of the libraries are small you can do a few before running the repair.