Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Rather Shocking OS X Bug Discovered -> Files Vanish

Well, I've always chalked it up to user error for long enough ---- this weekend made me realize that it never has been.

Twice yesterday, and four times today, a file I was working on simply disappeared from my Desktop. Vanished, gone, poof.

I've been working on an RTF file that I periodically export to PDF on the Desktop, and this exported PDF is a file that I need to email off when I make changes to it. The only applications that directly use this file are TextEdit, whatever TextEdit uses to render them to PDF, and Mail.app.

Periodically, the PDF file just ceases to exist. When I go to email it off, the one I am looking for is no longer there. It's gone.

Now, when I say gone, I mean gone. It's not in the trash, it's not findable via the terminal, the shell, or any conventional filesystem tool. I am a Linux Systems Administrator, and I spend 70% of my life in the shell, so if it's there, I'll find it.

To make matters worse, there are no messages in the OS X console which give any hint as to what has happened to the file.

As I mentioned, this has happened to me numerous times since I've upgraded to "Mountain Lion" (I'm currently using 10.8.5).

I've reported mysterious file loss on various forums before, with two different Macs … but, well, the consensus was always user error. You know how that goes in the Mac world sometimes. 50 "that never happens to me, therefore it must be you" replies, and to be fair, I don't completely blame them. I've seen users do some pretty goofy things over the years, so skepticism is not unwarranted. Especially since, in 2013 at least, operating systems don't just delete files randomly.

Except that they do. This weekend, it's happened six times.