Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Air (2013) - randomly getting blank screen - Force Restart only option

I got my 13" MBA (2013 Haswell Chipset, upgraded to 8GB RAM) in early-August, and have been enjoying it a lot.

BUT I have one very very odd problem.

Every once in a while (this has probably happened to me approx 15-20 times so far - but it DOES happen) - my screen turns completely dark/black.

I always have tried to press keys to make sure it didn't (suddenly) go into Sleep Mode, move my mouse around via the touchpad OR USB Mouse I have attached (to see if it hit the corner to turn off the display), and also try to do a four-finger side swipe to see if it's jumped to a blank screen (I have Parallels 8 with Windows 8 set to run in full-screen mode) - but NO RESPONSE.

My only options at this point is to hold down the power button to force a shutdown and reboot the system. I have *NO* idea what is going on, or what is causing it.

Any help in trying to troubleshoot this? Does anyone else have this issue?

FYI - this has happened under Mountain Lion (10.7.x - which it came with) as well as Mavericks (10.8) which I upgraded to last night - and it happened in that too!

All of my system updates are up-to-date (I'm pretty good at keeping it up-to-date)

Thanks!

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5)

Posted on Oct 23, 2013 2:51 PM

15 replies

Oct 23, 2013 4:00 PM in response to takabanana

I'm having exactly the same issue as you describe.

Mine is further complicated by mostly using a Thunderbolt Display. Connecting the display results in a black screen but the computer is 'awake'. A fix is to keep connecting / disconnecting the display until an image appears.

The laptop and display have been in to be checked out. Both check out OK. Yet still it happens and can be replicated.

Infuriating.

Tristan

Oct 24, 2013 1:37 AM in response to takabanana