Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Freezes after restart

I updated my 2009 MacBook Pro to Mavericks and on the final restart it freezes. I've crashed it twice now and restarted again, but it makes no difference. The same screen (light gray with a dark grey apple in the center) is frozen for hours. I'm really at a loss for what to do. I'm a freelance graphic designer and I need this computer to work. Please someone help! I was on the most recent update of Mountain Lion before this point.

MacBook Pro, OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Posted on Oct 23, 2013 4:12 PM

16 replies

Oct 24, 2013 3:47 PM in response to Jillrp

I was able to recover from the same error with no loss of data. Take a deep breath and don't do anything that you can't undo like repartition and re-install.

Do the following: Boot in recovery mode (Command + R).

Run the diskutil. Find your mac partition and do verify and repair.

If you get an error like this: invalid-bs_jmpboot-in-boot-block-000000

Then its the same problem.. The Boot Record is corrupted and not marked as HFS so it won't boot. However the data was fine for me and I was able to repair this..

These two pages provide two different methods of correcting this.

http://steelpangolin.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/invalid-bs_jmpboot-in-boot-block-0 00000/

http://forum.cgsecurity.org/phpBB3/invalid-bs-jmpboot-in-boot-block-000000-t2895 .html

I did the Python script method.. I booted off an external disc and then proceeded to repair the disk as described (read the whole page carefully and even the comments as I had an error that was corrected by sudo).

Once I did that the drive was mounted right away and I rebooted and came up as Mavericks with no further problems.

Oct 24, 2013 4:46 PM in response to redrock999