Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Bundling .jar files to .app in Mavericks?

So I just updated to Mavericks like everyone else because it's free. However I am a Java developer and I would like to bundle my .jar files into a Mac executable. However, a few things have changed with Mavericks, as with all updates to OS X. For one thing, there's no /usr/share/ant/ directory. There's /usr/share/, but not an ant/ folder.

So my point is this: do you know of a good updated site that shows jar bundling?

MacBook Pro, OS X Mavericks (10.9), Model of 2008

Posted on Oct 23, 2013 8:26 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 27, 2014 12:53 AM

This is how I managed to do it. I use NetBeans to compile to a .jar file. You also need to have the Java jdk1.7.0_45.jdk installed.

A) Download apache-ant-1.9.3-bin.tar.gz from http://ant.apache.org/bindownload.cgi to your Downloads folder

B) In the terminal do the following (taken with some changes from http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3222804/how-can-i-install-apache-ant-on-mac-o s-x)

cd ~/Downloads # Let's get into your downloads folder.

tar -xvzf apache-ant-1.9.3-bin.tar.gz # Extract the folder

sudo mkdir -p /usr/local # Ensure that /usr/local exists

sudo cp -rf apache-ant-1.9.3 /usr/local/apache-ant # Copy it into /usr/local

# Add the new version of Ant to current terminal session

export PATH=/usr/local/apache-ant/bin:"$PATH"

# Add the new version of Ant to future terminal sessions

echo 'export PATH=/usr/local/apache-ant/bin:"$PATH"' >> ~/.profile

C) Get appbundler-1.0.jar from http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/technotes/guides/jweb/packagingAppsForMac.h tml

There is some good detailed information there also about bundling.You may need to set your JAVA_HOME parameter.

D) Then comes the bundling procedure:

1) Compile your source code to get a .jar file in the dist folder.