Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Dropbox automator script no longer working with Mavericks

Hi,

I use two versions of the following shell script (found on the net), launched by automator, to set up two Dropbox accounts :

User uploaded file

Since upgrading to Mavericks, the script hangs when execution is requested. If the execution is then stopped and then requested a second time, the script terminates normally. Anyone have any idea why this might be (I am no expert of either shell scripts or automator) ?

Posted on Nov 4, 2013 1:08 AM

13 replies

Nov 27, 2013 12:48 AM in response to kalakov

Thanks kalakov, but this does not work for me.

I see that in the Automator window from which this script is executed, there is a dropdown list "Shell:", which has several options : bin/bash, bin/csh, bin/ksh, bin/sh, bin/tcsh, bin/zsh, usr/bin/perl, usr/bin/python, usr/bin/ruby.

I have tried several of these options to no effect, other than that some cause Dropbox to say that my Dropbox has been disassociated, and I do I want to re-associate it.

As you can understand, I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing, so any help would be appreciated!

Nov 28, 2013 2:47 AM in response to welshterrier

ok then do this. Once you have your first Dropbox account set up try the following steps:

1. Create a folder named "Dropbox-second" anywhere you like.

2. Open terminal, write "bash" and press enter.

3. paste the line below and press enter. (Dont close the terminal window)

HOME=$HOME/Dropbox-second /Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/MacOS/Dropbox &

4. A second dropbox instance will open requiring you to sign in. Go ahead sign-in and then click advanced and point to the "Dropbox-second" folder you created.

5. Close the terminal window and close the second instance of the dropbox from the topbar. (Click on the icon -> Click on the gear -> Quit Dropbox)

6. Now open AppleScript Editor and paste the following