Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"Cleaning" internal drive as suggested by Adobe

Since upgrading from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion a couple of months ago, my whole system is running very slow. Lots of spining beach balls. Folders taking a long time to be accessed and opened.

As most people do, I also upgraded my main software at the same time, in this case Adobe Lightroom from 3 to 5 (plus other software like Daylite).

Since the upgrade, Adobe Lightroom has been running very slow to recognize show new folders when created from within the software. After an hour long tech support call with Adobe where they said my HD's and a couple of Library folders (Adobe) didn't have permissions set to Admin (Read & Write), which we fixed. They then told me that my Working Studio HD (internal) needs to be "cleaned up" - defragged etc - as there were so many files on the HD (and there are, I'm a photographer, so I have tens of thousands of individual photo files on the HD), that Lightroom is taking a long time, and sometimes is unable, to synchronize and catalog the folders. It doesn't sound right to me, but that's what I'm being told.

Mac Pro, 2.66Ghz, Quad-core, 24 GB RAM, OS 10.8.5

Lightroom 5.2

I have a 650 GB internal HD with the system and regular HD files.

The HD Adobe is suggesting I need to "clean" is a 3 TB internal HD, 1.54 TB in use, 1.46 TB free.

I know Apple and prevailing wisdom is that you don't need to "clean" HD's but Adobe is basically forcing my hand here. Till I attempt to clean the HD and see if that fixes the issue, they won't help further.

As I said above, I am seeing an overall slowdown on the whole system. Could the OS be attempting to synchronize folders and files in the background and bogging everything down??

Thanks for any help or advise.

Mac Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5), 2.66 GHz, Quad Core Intel, 24 GB RA

Posted on Nov 4, 2013 2:08 PM

3 replies