Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Education Discount Abroad?

I am a university student in the United States and am travelling in Japan at the moment. Will my student discount work here in Japan?

iBook Dual USB, Mac OS X (10.4.7)

Posted on Jul 9, 2006 1:38 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 9, 2006 2:27 AM

I know that Apple offers student discounts in a couple of different countries, also here in Sweden. But I have no idea whether a "foreign student" can get these discounts.

I guess the only way to find out is to ask them if the discount applies only to Japanese students or not!
If they do, I guess you can always try to pretend to be a native student! 😀
2 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 9, 2006 2:27 AM in response to fluffyrabbitfeet

I know that Apple offers student discounts in a couple of different countries, also here in Sweden. But I have no idea whether a "foreign student" can get these discounts.

I guess the only way to find out is to ask them if the discount applies only to Japanese students or not!
If they do, I guess you can always try to pretend to be a native student! 😀

Jul 9, 2006 9:31 AM in response to fluffyrabbitfeet

After perusing the Apple Japan site, education discount section, it seems to say that the school (or relevant public organization) must be on the registered list. The registered list is what we would call a list of accredited schools. Since your university is in the USA, it won't be on that list because only Japanese schools are so accredited. (By the same token, Apple USA does the same thing in reverse.)