Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help to convert .VRO files for iMovie

Hello everyone -

I'm brand new to iMovie and am trying to educate myself. I have an old Sony DCR-DVD203 video camera that writes to mini DVD discs (8cm). When I record to a mini DVD-R my iMovie (v 9.0.9) imports automatically using the USB cable supplied with the camera. However, when I record to mini DVD-RW discs (with the VR format) iMovie will not recognize the camera nor import the .VRO file.

I assume that I need to convert the .VRO file into something that my iMovie can recognize, such as DV or MOV. I've spent a number of hours researching Video Converter software, looking at developer sites for products that specify exactly what formats they support,. Specifically I have searched for support for input for VRO files and output for MOV or DV files. While there are lots and lots of video converters, many of the developer sites don't sepcify all the formats they support. Lacking any explicit evidence that the VRO format is supported for input, I exclulded all such software.

Using this process of elimination I have found several offerings that do explicitly state they support VRO -to- DV or MOV. These include:

Wondershare Video Converter for Mac ($60)

Aunsoft Video Converter for Mac ($35)

iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe for Mac ($60)

However, postings such as the following have made me very wary of these prodicts:https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2741284?answerId=15029916022#15029916022