Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Recover Accidentally Deleted Files in OS X via Terminal, "command not found"

Hi!

I am trying to recover a folder from the trash. It was deleted 30 min ago. The command I am trying to use is;

Mys-MacBook-Pro:~ storedisk$ com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles true

And the response is;

-bash: com.apple.Finder: command not found

When I open any Terminal window I get this message, I don't know if this is relevant;

Last login: Wed Nov 13 08:27:40 on ttys001

I have found some similar replies on the forum but they do not seem to work in my case. I'm new to Terminal so I would really appreciate the help to find the cause and to resolve my problem.

Thanks a lot!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Nov 13, 2013 7:16 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 13, 2013 8:21 AM

You command is wrong.

In the Terminal run the following command which will show all (-a) files in your Trash. If however, you compulsively emptied your Trash (as I tend to do), your file(s) are gone. That is the (ell)s command below.

Mys-MacBook-Pro:~ storedisk$ ls -a .Trash

If you file is in the Trash, you can retrieve it:

Mys-MacBook-Pro:~ storedisk$ mv .Trash/filename .

The following syntax will show all files. You would supply FALSE to not show all files. The values of true or 1 and false or 0 will also work.

Mys-MacBook-Pro:~ storedisk$ defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool TRUE
11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 13, 2013 8:21 AM in response to minaemelia

You command is wrong.