Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie (and iMac) does not recognize device(s)

Hello and thanks for reading. I know this topic is like beating a dead horse but this one is unique. I'm a professional editor and I couldn't figure this out so any help would be appreciated. Here's the play by play:

• I edit using FCP 5.1.4 and have for years. I've had the same set up running for years and do high volume editing.
  • I have a chain of 4 Lacie drives, all connected by firewire.
  • At the end of that string, I have my tape player for capturing footage, a Sony GV-HD700, which then goes on to the TVs, DVD players, etc.
  • Also the end of that string, I also have a disc burner for making DVDs.
  • So it goes: iMac > Lacie #1 > Lacie #2 > Lacie #3 > Lacie #4 > Sony tape player & DVD burner > TVs, VCRs, etc.
  • Yesterday, I was in a rush and the DVD burner was going slow so I unplugged it from the end of the string of Lacie drives and plugged it directly into the back of the computer to see if it would burn faster.
  • It didn't, so I plugged it back into the end of the Lacie string.
  • At that point, Lacie #4 became unrecognizable to the computer and therefore so was the tape player, which is further down the chain.
  • When I plugged the tape player high up the chain, into Lacie #3, it still was not recognized.
  • I plugged the tape player (Sony GV-HD700) directly into the back of the computer...still not recognized.
  • I took the Sony GV-HD700 into our other editing bay and it was still not recognized.
  • I pulled out my camera (Sony HDR-FX1000) and plugged it directly into the back of the original computer...recognized just fine.
  • I plugged Sony HDR-FX1000 camera into the back of Lacie #2...recognized just fine.
  • I took the Sony HDR-FX1000 camera into our other editing bay...recognized just fine.