Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

dropbox

Dropbox mac app causes mac os failed to start?

I had the following problem with the dropbox app, which I would like to see if anybody else has the same issue.

I have been using dropbox for a few years but never tried their app. A few days ago I decided to give it a try and indeed it is very nice. However yesterday I had to power off the mac. And it failed to restart: afte the logo page, I got the "spinning beachball" on grey screen, and never got to the login window. I forced the system to power down and restart, and this time it worked. I uninstalled the dropbox app, and "purged" all the bread crumbs it left behind. Tried to restart the computer and the symptom persists: spinning beachball, no login screen. And again it is purely random: sometimes I could get to the login window, and sometimes I couldn't. Try all different ways suggested on the support webpage: reset NVRAM, repair hard drive, AHT,.... everything seems to be OK, except that one out of three times, I cannot get to the login screen. Finally I realized that the dropbox app might have left something else behind. And indeed it has: in "System Preference"->"Users and Groups"->"Login items", it has left not only one but *three* items with names such as "dropbox ....". After removing all of them, my MBP is back to normal. And even more, my subjective feeling is that the machine is also faster. So my conclusion is that dropbox has installed three pieces of s**t which will be restarted everytime the MBP restarts, and failed to remove them when it was uninstalled. For those dropbox users, can you check your configuration to see if this is the case?

HW: 15 inch MBP, 8G mem

SW: OS X 10.8.5

dropbox-OTHER, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5), dropbox causes OS X failed to boot

Posted on Nov 16, 2013 3:06 PM

10 replies

Mar 10, 2014 3:40 AM in response to mac_user_8934131