Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to install Windows 8.1 on Haswell Mac?

Just bought the 15" Haswell Macbook Pro Retina and I'm trying to install Windows 8.1. I'm relatively new to Mac so the instructions that I found didn't really make sense to me and seemed like they were skipping steps. My school gave me the downloadable Windows 8.1 for Mac Version that says it has to be used with an external USB. Here's the steps I've followed leading up to my problem in the best way I can explain them.

1. Downloaded this file: English_windows_8_1_professional_upgrade_w64

2. Plugged in 8gb flash drive

3. Started boot camp assistant

4. Clicked 'Create a Windows 7 or later version install disk'

5. Chose this for ISO img: /Users/.../Documents/English_windows_8_1_professional_upgrade_w64/English_windo ws_8_1_professional_upgrade_w64.img

6. Says it's formatting drive

7. Prompted with this: Your bootable USB drive could not be created

Any insight on what's going on? I have a feeling it's because it's an upgrade? But what does that have to do with the USB drive? I've used 3 different flash drives and get the same message every time.

Also, I did do all the updates on the computer immediately upon opening it. Talked to some tech people and they said the update made it so that you don't need windows 7 first? I don't know...

MacBook Pro with Retina display, iOS 7.0.4

Posted on Nov 18, 2013 12:20 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 18, 2013 3:15 AM

After 3 hours I've successfully installed windows 8.1. Everything seems to be working fine but I'm too tired to try running any programs on it yet. I basically ran into most of the problems that I read about on the forums. Here's what I did since running into the problem listed.