Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Here's my use case. Any reason to get a PC instead of MacBook Pro?

Background:

• I have used ThinkPads for years and have found no better keybooard or pointing stick. I am quite comfortable with Windows but I'm not very interested in Windows 8.
  • I have an iPhone 4s and an iPad 2. Love the iPhone and loved the iPad before I upgraded to iOS 7. I *hate* iOS 7 from a user experience perspective and it maks me question whether I can trust Apple going forward. I don't want to invest in expensive devices that are going to devolve with crappy "upgrades" like iOS 7.
  • I don't have much patience for slow or defective performance and a poor UI. The UI doesn't need to always be pretty - sometimes simple and plain works just fine, but it needs to make sense. Also, I am not very technical so system problems or set up difficulty can easily derail me. And that makes me grumpy.

Use case:

• Daily personal use, several hours at a time, sitting at the kitchen table or on a sofa. (When I travel, I bring my iPad 2 and a portable keyboard.)
  • LOTS of typing - blogs, e-mail, the book I'm writing (or thinking about writing).
  • Lots of reading (news, product reviews, blogs, etc.)
  • Browser will be open morning, noon, and night with multiple tabs opened simultaneously. There will be LOTS of switching between browser and other apps.
  • Love to watch YouTube videos. I don't make videos, but I watch them. I had a Sammy netbook that used to stall when videos were played. How very disappointing.
  • I maintain budget spreadsheets & generally use the computer for home business, too, not just surfing and entertainment.
  • I'm not a photographer but I do like to store pics that people send to me, and upload and store pics from my camera. Haven't dabbled much into photo editing, but haven't ruled it out (nothing more sophisticated than cropping though).