3 Replies Latest reply: Feb 18, 2014 10:29 PM by soujo
yavuz.efe Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

Greetings;

Recently I bought a Macbook Air (Mid 2013) which comes with Mountain Lion OS. And I did clean state Mavericks OS Installation.

I have 2 different usb sticks which are :

32 GB Corsair Flash Voyager GT USB 3.0

64 GB Corsair Flash Voyager GT USB 3.0

When I plug one of these to mac book air (tried 2 ports) wi-fi stops working (it's not disconnecting but do not receive / send any data)

Also when wifi is disconnected or i try to connect  a wifi (when usb stick is plugged) i always encounter same error (Something Like Connection Time Out)

I'm a Mac newbie. I don't know much about macs.

( I Also Have Kingston DataTraveler Hyper X 8GB USB 2.0 Stick, When It's Plugged, Wifi Works Normally)

Has anyone encounter this problem, or solved it ?

(PS : I tried all three file systems : Mac OS, FAT32, and NTFS this happened, no matter what the file system is)

Oh and; sorry for my bad English

MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9), Macbook Air (Mid 2013)
  • SilverLanternMan Level 2 Level 2 (170 points)

take a look at these articles.

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4512

Bluetooth: Unreliable wireless performance may occur when USB 3.0 external devices are close

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5172#15

Using USB 3 devices on Mac computers FAQ

I sometimes have difficulty with Wi-Fi or Bluetooth devices when USB 3 devices are attached to my computer.  What could be wrong?

Some USB 3 devices, hard drives in particular, can generate radio frequency interference that can cause Wi-Fi and Bluetooth devices operating in the 2.4GHz band to have issues communicating with your computer. Do not place hard drives or other USB devices behind the rear of your Mac near at the hinge of your screen. The antennas for Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are located there, and USB 3 devices placed there may interfere with your wireless connections. See this white paper for more information.