Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iOS Xcode vs OS X Xcode

I'm a Mac newbie. I'd like to give Xcode a try. I've searched the 'net, but all that I've found is example code for iOS. Is Xcode for iOS identical to Xcode for OS X? Should I search the 'net for example code for Objective-C? Is Objective-C identical to Xcode? I'd like to get some books. Should I get beginner books for Objective-C or beginner books for Xcode or does it make any difference?

I have Mavericks on my Macbook Pro & Mountain Lion on my Mac mini. I've downloaded Xcode onto my laptop but not onto my mini.

Thanks.

David

MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2012), OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Posted on Nov 23, 2013 5:33 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 23, 2013 6:58 PM

macnerd48 wrote:

I'm a Mac newbie. I'd like to give Xcode a try. I've searched the 'net, but all that I've found is example code for iOS.

All? iOS is certainly popular but if you haven't found any OS X examples then you haven't searched very much of the net.

Is Xcode for iOS identical to Xcode for OS X?

Identical? No. There is the whole simulator thing. Interface Builder is different obviously. Xcode itself does both so it is more or less identical.

Should I search the 'net for example code for Objective-C? Is Objective-C identical to Xcode? I'd like to get some books. Should I get beginner books for Objective-C or beginner books for Xcode or does it make any difference?

It doesn't make any difference. Example code is really only useful for people who could write it themselves but find it more efficient to start with a template. If you don't know, then you need to learn first. Otherwise, when the example code fails as it does 75% of the time, you're stuck.

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 23, 2013 6:58 PM in response to macnerd48

macnerd48 wrote: