Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I forgot my Air on

Hi people :-) I am new to the Mac world, still getting used to it. This monday after finishing work, I pressed Shut down, closed the lid of my Air and put it in its sleeve. 3 days after I took it out and to my surprise when I opened the lid, it was on with a message about Stickers not closing ok or something like that.

My worry is, can something have happened to it for being on so many days inside a sleeve? I don´t have very clear how the sleep mode works in Mac. I haven´t touched the factory settings about Energy Saver.

If it helps, it is running on 10.8.5 and I haven´t installed any of the app to avoid it from going to sleep when the lid is closed.

Thx in advance and a great day for all!!! :-)

Posted on Dec 5, 2013 5:41 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 5, 2013 5:45 AM

When shutting down the computer, wait until the computer completely shut down before

closing the lid.

Best.

6 replies

Dec 5, 2013 6:05 AM in response to NewMacUser1980

If it is running fine now, don't worry and be thankful that nothing happened. If running, with the lid closed in a sleeve or case, yes, a machine could overheat. But, it would have shut down then, as all apple computers have builtin overheat shutdown protection.

There's nothing you can do now - if it is running fine now, odds are it is fine, just don't make the same mistake twice 😉

Dec 5, 2013 7:11 AM in response to NewMacUser1980