Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I uninstall "Eyes on the Solar System"?

I recently installed "Eyes on the Solar System" from NASA's web site. It is compatible with OS X and runs fine, but I want to delete it. If I drag it to Trash, the icon just returns to Launchpad. If I hold down on the screen, I do not get an X. This was not downloaded through the App Store, and has no delete option in its menu.

Any suggestions on how to get rid of this program?

Thanks.

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), 13" ; 256gb drive, 8mb mem, i7.

Posted on Dec 6, 2013 6:53 PM

17 replies

Dec 7, 2013 5:13 AM in response to saholz

I couldn't find it in my applications folder, so I'll keep looking. I could not uninstall it from the Launchpad, where it now sits.

I am new to OS X, coming off many years with various Windows incarnations. I do like the relative simplicity and logic of OS X, but not having an accessible uninstall utility for third party software in the operating system is odd. It's also odd that this program doesn't include its own uninstall option. I have emailed the developer and asked for specific uninstall directions.

The app actually works fine, and I may keep it, but not having a quick and easy way of deleting it is really annoying. That one stupid omission has already soured me on this otherwise decent and free app.

Dec 7, 2013 7:56 AM in response to saholz

saholz,

There are several versions on the Mac download page. Which one did you install?

http://eyes.jpl.nasa.gov/download.html

The one that Barney-15E downloaded (from the 'click here' link) is the 'alternative version'. It's just a zip file with the application, that could be inside your Downloads folder inside your home folder.

The other one which I downloaded (from the 'Download' button) is a 'package installer' it looks looks a box with with a yellow cube inside.