Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Will the 11" MBA do for me?

Hi!

I currently own a late 2011 13" MacBook Pro, but I am considering getting the current 11" MacBook Air (with 256gb HD and 8gb memory).

Can anyone please tell me how the two compare? I'm a graphic designer and use Photoshop and Illustrator (both CS5) quite a bit (and InDesign on rare occasions).

Right now my MBP is struggling with larger files in Illustrator, even though I have upgraded it to 8gb memory.

Hope someone can help me out here! 🙂

MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Posted on Dec 10, 2013 3:06 PM

6 replies

Dec 10, 2013 3:26 PM in response to inedig

Considering what you plan on doing with it, bad idea

Ive owned both 11" and 13" and another 11", Ill not go back to the 11" and if I was doing what you plan on doing, would not think of it.

13" has longer batt life, much larger cells, has a SD card slot the 11" doesnt have.

your choice is subjective, but theres not enough real estate on the screen for a LOT of what you are considering doing

Yes, get 8gig regardless.

😊

Dec 11, 2013 12:08 AM in response to rockmyplimsoul

Thanks for taking the time to reply, but neither one of the replies really helped me find an answer to my question. I'm wanting to know if it would feel like an upgrade, hardware wise, to go from late 2011 MBP to current MBA. Nevermind about the screensize, I can always get an external display. How are they performance wise? Will it be impossible to do work in PS and Illustrator on the MBA?

Dec 11, 2013 12:36 AM in response to inedig

inedig

I'm wanting to know if it would feel like an upgrade, hardware wise, to go from late 2011 MBP to current MB

Yes, I have owned the last 2 releases of the Macbook Air..

and Photoshop Pro boots (for myself) in under 4 seconds full, rather than 7 seconds + in 2012 Air... and nearly 9+ seconds in the earliest model I owned.