Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is 4GB enough for MacBook Air Mid-2013?

Hello everyone!

Nowadays I use an iPad 2 as my main computer. I am a college student, and I opted for the iPad since I had to travel a lot for the last 2 years. But now, I need a more full-powered computer for the tasks I need to do for my final years on college. I am also a happy owner of a Early-2008 MacBook, which lasted the last 5 years without any major problems.

What I do with my computer is basically this:

- basic video-editing on iMovie
- organize photos on iPhoto and basic photo editing
- run R Project for some statistical projects for college
- use Word, PowerPoint and Excel
- web browsing using Firefox(although I would change back to Safari on Mavericks - I've heard that it has some great power management features)
- IRC with Colloquy
- other tasks that are not intensive(i.e. Mail, Calendar, todo's with Things, etc)
- very casual gaming

My idea is to get a MacBook Air 11 inch Mid-2013 with 4GB of RAM. I would happily get the upgrade to 8GB, but I live in Brazil, and the pricing here is nuts. My question is: with this configuration, and using it for the tasks I normally use, am I capable of getting this computer going for at least 4 years?

Thanks in advance! 🙂

Posted on Dec 16, 2013 12:24 PM

4 replies

Dec 16, 2013 12:26 PM in response to claudiobla

For your needs, 4 GB of RAM are enough... for now. The only problem you would have is with games, and games depend on the processor and GPU more than on the RAM.

As we do not know how future OS X versions will work with 4 GB and you cannot install more RAM on a MacBook Air after buying it, I highly recommend you to get it with 8 GB of RAM, so you can be sure you will be able to use all those apps without any issue

Dec 16, 2013 2:00 PM in response to PlotinusVeritas