Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Buy a new imac ? or upgrade hardware ? help.

I'm new to the threads on here, hopefully somebody can help.

I have a "2008 2.4GHz intel core 2 duo imac" and it's running on leopard 10.5.8

Pretty much for the last 2 years my mac has been completely deteriorating and I think the problem is that my software has outgrown my hardware.

I can't run more than 2 programs at any one time (including having itunes open in the background) and when I use DAW's the system constantly crashes on me. I've also experienced numerous "kernal panics ?"

2 days ago I purchased the iphone 5s which is my first iphone and was looking to put music on it. unfortunately my itunes can't update any further without me upgrading my OS first. So currently my phone is incompatible with my desktop.

My question is:

Upgrade >>> Should I upgrade my ram and OS ? and hope that gives it a bit of fuel and allows me to use my iphone.

or

Purchase >>> Is there any way apple can help me with buying a new mac, without spending as much as I did 5/6 years ago as my current desktops best function is a corner lamp ?

iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Dec 17, 2013 5:46 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 17, 2013 6:14 PM

Welcome!

First, how much RAM do you currently have? Most of that model shipped with 2G RAM. Officially it supports up to 4GB RAM and unoffically it can do 6GB with the right modules.

You can buy Snow Leopard 10.6 on disk for US$20 directly from Apple and upgrade. I ran Snow Leopard without issue on a Core 2 Duo 2.2gHz Mac for years with only 2GB RAM. Snow Leopard supports current iDevices like the iPhone 5s. From the 5s tech sheet:

User uploaded file

Were it me, I'd upgrade the OS to Snow Leopard and bump the RAM to 4GB. Should run OK. When I upgraded my Core 2 Duo Mac from Leopard to Snow Leopard, it became more stable.