Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Maintaining Aperture libraries across 2 or more systems - Best practices!

I have an MBP and recently bought an iMac. As a professional photographer, I plan to use the iMac for all image storage and editing work, and the MBP for making slideshow presentations. Though I do foresee a need where I might need to publish images from the MBP for client delivery, last-min changes in slideshows for projection at weddings etc. There are also situations where I will have the MBP for several days while travelling, all photos get downloaded and edited on it, but when back at home (or office), I will need to have the same set of edited images onto my iMac. And in another instance, I might want it the other way round, where my iMac has the latest edited images, and I need them on my MBP to carry to a client.

Are there other photographers who use more than 1 Mac (with Aperture) to store & edit their images. Are there any best practices that you follow. It'd help to know how others do so.

Thanks in advance.

Bhaven

MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), Intel Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD

Posted on Dec 19, 2013 10:50 AM

21 replies

Dec 19, 2013 1:13 PM in response to hibhaven

I use 2 Macs with Aperture. A Retina MacBook Pro that I use in the field, and then my desktop Mac Pro.

I maintain my "master" library on my Mac Pro and it's the final machine of record. When I'm away shooting, I will create a new Aperture library on the MacBook Pro, and work within that library. Then I come home, copy that library to my Mac Pro, and then I import the library into my main Aperture library. All my photos, adjustments, and metadata come over intact. This works great, and I've been working this way for 6 or 7 years.