Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

No signal after Apple TV set-up

I hooked up my HDMI cable and the power cable and I still get "no signal" when I switch my remote to HDMI 2 (which is the port I used for the HDMI cable.)

Apple TV (3rd generation), iOS 7.0.4

Posted on Dec 29, 2013 1:08 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 11, 2017 5:35 PM

I'm new to 21st century digital entertainment. Received an LG TV and Apple TV setup for Christmas. Everything worked fine until suddenly I got the "No Signal" message on the HTMI1 setting. Checked all the wires. Fine. Then for the heck of it, I unplugged the Apple TV power cord and then reconnected it. Voila. The Apple TV menu appeared and started rebuilding. A few moments later I was back in business, just by rebooting the Apple TV.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 11, 2017 5:35 PM in response to Aen414

I'm new to 21st century digital entertainment. Received an LG TV and Apple TV setup for Christmas. Everything worked fine until suddenly I got the "No Signal" message on the HTMI1 setting. Checked all the wires. Fine. Then for the heck of it, I unplugged the Apple TV power cord and then reconnected it. Voila. The Apple TV menu appeared and started rebuilding. A few moments later I was back in business, just by rebooting the Apple TV.

Jan 15, 2017 3:43 AM in response to Aen414

My older model apple TV used to do this from time to time with my Samsung TV. It's almost as if the signal on the HMDI was not quite strong enough for the TV to recognise it. What used to work for me was to make sure the TV was looking at the correct source for the apple tv, then power off the apple tv (remove cable or unplug) - then power up again. Don't know why but once the apple tv displayed the apple logo it would appear on the TV and work fine for the rest of the day. Occasionally it would need to be repeated,

Jan 15, 2017 7:19 AM in response to DaveGarratt