Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Battery life in MacBook Pro Retina

Hi guys,

I bought last week a MacBook Pro Retina, 13inch, late 2012, and my battery life is nowhere near the 'expected'. Right now I'm at 57% with 3:14 but I know some people have 9hours on a full charge... It just seems weird. I already did a PRAM and SMC reset and my battery life didn't change at all. I read that it could be related to Maverick (which I installed recently) - could that be the cause?

Also, I can't seem to understand what's the correct way to charge a MacBook. Should I charge it when it reaches 20% left (80% of use)? When should I stop charging - when it reaches 100% or less?

Thank you

(sorry if I do something wrong - I'm a newbie here)

(happy new year!)

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.1)

Posted on Dec 31, 2013 12:33 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 31, 2013 12:42 PM

Currently in some cases Mavericks is not reporting battery life as accurate in "time remaining" its being looked into.

As for the battery:

Keep it plugged in when near a socket so you keep the charging cycles down on your LiPo (lithium polymer) cells / battery, but not plugged in all the time. When not being used for several hours, turn it off.

And best "tip" is if its near a socket,...plug it in as long as you can (especially at home) since cycle count on the battery are the "miles that wear out the tires (battery)", however again, not plugged in all or most of the time.

http://www.apple.com/batteries/notebooks.html

"Apple does not recommend leaving your portable plugged in all the time."

General rule to remember of Lithium batteries is:

Never drain them LOW & dont always/often store them HIGH