Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I remove a disconnected server?

My new Mac keeps wanting to connect to my old Mac when I turn it off. A window constantly pops up telling me the server may be inaccessible. Both are running Maverick. I can't see the old Mac server in Finder since it's not running. I want to wipe and sell the old Mac, but can't until I can make my new Mac forget the old one.

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.1), Yup, I'm still a newbie.

Posted on Dec 31, 2013 6:59 PM

1 reply

Dec 31, 2013 9:38 PM in response to Anchorager

Please take each of the following steps that you haven't already tried. Back up all data before making any changes.

Step 1

If you get the warning as soon as you log in, it's probably caused by one of your login items or a system modification that loads at startup or login. Ask if you need help identifying it. A common offender is "AdobeResourceSynchronizer," which is a component of some Adobe products.

Step 2

If there's an icon representing the server in the sidebar of a Finder window, hold down the command key and drag it out.

Step 3

In the Finder, press the key combination command-K or select

Go Go to Server...

from the menu bar. In the upper right corner of the window that opens is a Recent Servers popup menu represented by a clock icon. From that menu, select

Clear Recent Servers…

and confirm. Test.

Step 4

Open the Print & Scan pane in System Preferences and delete any network devices you no longer use.

Step 5

Triple-click anywhere in the line below on this page to select it, then copy the text to the Clipboard by pressing the key combination command-C:

~/Library/PDF Services

In the Finder, select

Go Go to Folder...