Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Fixing Bluetooth driver installation via Bootcamp on Windows 7

There seems to be a defect with the BOOTCAMP drivers that are bundled for the late 2013 MacBook Pro 15" with Retina Display. I am software engineer and I have a lot of experience developing drivers for both Windows and Mac, so I wanted to share the fix with the community, since it very much non-trivial.

How to Reproduce the Problem

• On Mac OS X 10.9 download the driver bundle for Windows through Bootcamp Assistant and put it on a USB stick formatted as FAT (MS-DOS)
  • either:
    • install Windows 7 from an ISO image
    • restore a Windows 7 image from another MacBook Pro using WinClone (this the route I've taken, but I suspect the problem will occur anyways as I've seen this issue pop up through Google and there is no reason it would work otherwise)
  • once Windows 7 starts, try installing the Bootcamp driver by running setup.exe in the Bootcamp folder of the USB stick you created earlier
  • the installation will go on for a while and then fail saying that the Bootcamp drivers are not designed for this machine
  • restart Windows and through the device manager you'll find under "other devices" that the Bluetooth USB Controller has an exclamation point on it

Problem

The Bluetooth driver bundled by Bootcamp Assistant has a defect and will fail to install. You can also verify that the Bluetooth driver is not installing correctly, by running AppleBluetoothInstaller64.exe in the folder BootCamp\Drivers\Apple on your USB stick and you'll get the message that the driver is "not needed (No device for update present)".

Solution

First of all let me give a little disclaimer: ONLY A TECHNICAL PERSON SHOULD DO THIS!

Ok, let's begin.