Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Hi - I have a imac 2010. I wrote an assignment for school, tried uploading it to the blackboard to receive credit. It only shows a link that won't open. I am new to iMac, I am used to microsoft word and compaq computer. I think I wrote it in pages. what t

The blackboard on school site only shows a link, one that does not open. I am new to mac. I am used to word and compaq. I think I wrote it in pages, saved and tried to put on board at school. I will not get credit for this assignment on account of this. Could someone walk me through how to write and assignment save and upload so school can open and view? Thank you. I am used to word and that was simple , this seems difficult or at least confusing.

Thank you

Posted on Jan 15, 2014 12:57 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 15, 2014 1:10 PM

Your school still uses Blackboard? One of the most horrible pieces of software I have encountered in decades!

You uploaded your file as a Pages file.

2 problems with this:

1. Who has Pages to open it with?

2. The new Pages 5 has a weird compressed package format that non-Apple servers can not read properly.

Menu > File > Export > Word

Then drag/attach that into wherever Blackboard accepts eMail or files.

Peter

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 15, 2014 1:10 PM in response to bella maria9

Your school still uses Blackboard? One of the most horrible pieces of software I have encountered in decades!

You uploaded your file as a Pages file.

2 problems with this:

1. Who has Pages to open it with?

2. The new Pages 5 has a weird compressed package format that non-Apple servers can not read properly.

Menu > File > Export > Word

Then drag/attach that into wherever Blackboard accepts eMail or files.

Peter

Jan 15, 2014 1:13 PM in response to bella maria9