Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Beginning a Conversion Project: Hi8 to Digital

Guys,

I am just beginning a conversion process. I am starting with iMovie HD 5.0.2 (111). I have about 75-100 tapes to convert. Some with small amounts of video per tape to others with over an hour per tape.

I am using a Dazzle Hollywood DV-Bridge with standard RCA cable? (The cable with red, white, and yellow tips) connecting the camera to the bridge. I am using a firewire cable to connect the bridge to my Mac.

The camera and bridge also have s-video plug ins that I am not using at present. Would I get any beter quality by improrting using s-video?

I would like to import the tapes and save them as raw footage for later editing. I will probably convert each raw file to iMovie for archiving also.

The raw files I have created are very large. 250 MB to 29 GB.

Questions?
1. Is there any advantage in moving to iMovie HD 6? Or any other conversion program?

2. Is there any way to backup/archive a raw file that is 29 GB to a DVD ?

3. Using my present equipment, what type of external storage device would you suggest? I like the spped of Firewire 800. I am looking at OWC's Mercury Elite AL Pro drives. Your thoughts?

4. If you were to start this project from scratch, what equipment would you use?

Thank In Advance For Your Assistance,

PB G4 1.5GHz 1.5 GB SDRAM, Mac OS X (10.4.7), Internal HD: 80 MB HD, External HD: Lacie d2 Extreme 250 MB connected vis FireWire 800 Port

Posted on Jul 29, 2006 11:30 AM

8 replies

Jul 29, 2006 3:04 PM in response to Greg Maranto

Hi Greg,
For simply trying to get your analog tapes digitized and into your computer, there is no advantage between any of the iMovie versions since you are primarily looking for a way to capture the footage. It is in the editing that the version of iMovie might have adnavtages.