Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How much ram should i put in my mac mini mid-2011?

Hello, so i have a mid-2011 mac mini intel i5 2.3GHz with 2gb of ram and sometimes its kind of slow.. I've searched on OWC for ram and found 4gb (2x2gb) for about 58$ and 8gb (2x4gb) for 105$. I am an high school student that does a lot of pages documents, garageband and imovie projects, iphoto editing and i sometimes use xcode. Should 4gb of ram be sufficient or it would be better if i had 8gb? Well, i know that more ram is always better, but would 4gb make a lot of difference from my 2gb?

Mac mini, OS X Mavericks (10.9.1)

Posted on Jan 22, 2014 9:28 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 22, 2014 10:05 PM

4GB would only be a modest improvement in Mavericks. It is always best to future proof and go for the larger upgrade, instead of wishing that you had.

Additionally if you are going to run GarageBand, iMovie projects or move on to Pro App's at sometime, you might some day wish that you had taken it to 16GB.

see > Apple Mac mini Memor upgrades for 2011 Mac mini models

18 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 22, 2014 10:05 PM in response to Gab13

4GB would only be a modest improvement in Mavericks. It is always best to future proof and go for the larger upgrade, instead of wishing that you had.

Additionally if you are going to run GarageBand, iMovie projects or move on to Pro App's at sometime, you might some day wish that you had taken it to 16GB.

see > Apple Mac mini Memor upgrades for 2011 Mac mini models

Jan 23, 2014 5:22 PM in response to Gab13