Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Script to rename images using CSV file

Hello, I have build a website using a Woocommerce for Wordpress. The site is going to have over 1200 images and they need to be renamed appropriately for each product. I've never used Apple Script before but after hours and hours of searching I have noticed people with similar issues have managed to solve the problem using AppleScript.

I have attached a screenshot of the CSV file first 20 files - also the images are all saved in a folder with the names _DSC7916 copy 2.jpg etc etc.

Hopefully my issue makes sense,

User uploaded file

MacBook Pro with Retina display, iOS 7.0.4

Posted on Jan 30, 2014 5:16 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 30, 2014 6:29 PM

Should be simple with this bash script.

Change ~/Documents to the Folder where the files reside (assumes that the csv file and the jpg files are in the same Folder):

#!/bin/bash

cd ~/Documents

while read line

do

OldImageName=${line%,*}

NewImageName=${line#*,}

mv "$OldImageName" "$NewImageName"

done <"TheFile.csv"

165 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 30, 2014 6:29 PM in response to Community User

Should be simple with this bash script.

Change ~/Documents to the Folder where the files reside (assumes that the csv file and the jpg files are in the same Folder):

#!/bin/bash

cd ~/Documents

while read line

do

OldImageName=${line%,*}

NewImageName=${line#*,}

done <"TheFile.csv"

Jan 30, 2014 6:43 PM in response to Community User

In applescript it goes something like this:

(*

this all assuming the CSV file is a plain text file with a comma delimiting

the old and new filenames on a given line. If you have another structure

you need to give specifics so this can be modified

*)

set theCSVData to paragraphs of (read "/path/to/theCSVFile.csv")

set {oldTID, my text item delimiters} to {my text item delimiters, ","}