Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Air or Pro for Music Production

Hello!

So, I am a music producer for a couple of years now and I am working with my 5/6 years old MacBook Pro 15" with a Core2Duo, 4GB (RAM) and 160GB HHD (5200rpm - I think) and is very frustrating to be able to have multiple vst's / plugins to work simultaneously (Using Logic Pro X and Ableton Live 9).

I'm with some doubts among the MacBook Pro (15.4 ") i7 Quad-Core (2.0 GHz) with 8 GB memory (RAM) and Iris Graphics Pro, MacBook Pro (13") i5 Quad-Core with 8GB (RAM) or a MacBook Air i5/i7 with 8GB (RAM).

I do not have much money to spend at the moment, so was wondering if any of these MacBook will last me a few years?

MacBook Pro (15-inch 2.4/2.2 GHz)

Posted on Feb 1, 2014 8:22 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 1, 2014 8:24 AM

The MBP will be a better choice for you.🙂

4 replies

Feb 1, 2014 2:20 PM in response to LowLuster

I am working in a studio só I have a Mac Pro (Desktop) there, but I need work at home and sometimes over the flights or watever I am, só I need a something more portable. The maximum that I am thinking is 2000€.

This specs:

Product Title: Apple ME293 MacBook PRO with Retina Display (Intel Core i7 Quad Core, 15.4 Inches, 256GB Flash Storage, 8 GB, OS X Mavericks)

Brand: Apple

Memory Size: 8 GB

Screen Size: 15.4 Inch

Operating System: OS X Mavericks

Hard Disk Capacity: 256 GB

Processor Family: Intel Core i7

By the way, is possible change the 8GB RAM for 16GB by my self?

Cheers

Feb 1, 2014 3:14 PM in response to RogérioMestrinho