Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

imovie export problem

I have captured a lengthy DV clip (1h) from a camcorder via firewire/thunderbold into imovie 10, did some editing and now like to export the movie to be shared on itunes/apple TV. however, when using the share function (to theater or itunes), the project shows up in the Theater section, but the caption below the movie icon shows permanently "creating movie" without making any progress. I can play back the movie in imovie either from the libary of the Theater, but can not get the file saved in itunes or exported into a external movie file. I tried various file/resolution options but the result is the same.

I am pretty new to the apple world and expected these media tasks to work better compared to PC based edditing, but am somewhat taken back.

I have a 27" imac, with 3.7 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM and 2TB free Fusion Drive space.

Please help.

iMac (27-inch, Late 2012), OS X Mavericks (10.9.1)

Posted on Feb 2, 2014 8:05 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 2, 2014 9:12 AM

When you share to Theater, it also defaults to upload to iCloud. Depending on your Internet connection that may take quite some time. And your free storage might not be enough for one hour of video. You can disable that in your preferences.

If you cancel the theater and just share to iTunes, things should be rather swift.

Theater on ATV3 can only be viewed when uploaded to the iCloud. However when in iTunes and your computer is on and iTunes opened you can look-up your movie via ATV ->iTunes.

HtH

Ben

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 2, 2014 9:12 AM in response to Burt_from_EHV

When you share to Theater, it also defaults to upload to iCloud. Depending on your Internet connection that may take quite some time. And your free storage might not be enough for one hour of video. You can disable that in your preferences.