Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac Pro 1.1 set up using RAID 0 (2 x SSDs SATA III) and PCIe card. Installed the two SSDs in RAID 0 via StarTech's StarTech ePCI SATA III RAID controller card with mini-SAS (PEXSAT34SFF). Slower than RAID without card. Different card need?

Mac Pro 1.1 set up using RAID 0 (2 x SSDs SATA III) and PCIe card. Installed the two SSDs in RAID 0 via StarTech's StarTech ePCI SATA III RAID controller card with mini-SAS (PEXSAT34SFF). Slower than RAID without card. Different card needed?

The speeds on Nova Bench were:

2 x SSB SATA III in RAID (striped) with ePCI = 82 MB/s

2 x SSB SATA III in RAID (striped) without ePCI = 126 MB/s
i am a teacher trying to produce video learning resources on a minimum budget. Hence trying to upgrade a secondhand Mac Pro 1.1 . I've upgraded the RAM to 26 Gb. If some kind sould out there to me to buy such-and-such a card and which internal connections to make i could attain faster read and write speeds i would be a happy man. Both speeds seem well below par, even for an old Mac Pro 1.1.
cheers

Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.1), Mac Pro 1.1, SSD SATA III, PCIe

Posted on Feb 3, 2014 8:10 AM

17 replies

Feb 3, 2014 9:53 AM in response to London artist teacher

ARe you using an 8X slot? is the card supported in 10.6 on Mac Pro 1,1? 1x slot? 4x?

One of the best cards is the $300 Sonnet Tempo Pro SSD PCIe if you want to use two SSDs for a data array.

you cannot boot and no need to on PCIe SSD.

Booting from a single SSD on one of the six SATA II ports is fine for the system and apps, I know I use Samsung 840 128GB there. And some SSDs on Sonnet Tempo for graphic files.

Usually you would be fine on a couple 2TB WD Black drives for video work.

you should be running at least 10.6.8+ updates, or even Lion 10.7.5 (the last that is supported on 1,1 and 2,1 models)

Feb 3, 2014 2:52 PM in response to The hatter

Thank you!