Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

OS X Server for photo business

Hi

I am an event photographer, and I am currently using 5 iPads to sell photos on site at events. I normally do not have internet access at event sites, so cloud type services are not an option, and I would like to use a Mac Mini to wirelessly serve the images to the iPads.

At the moment, I'm finding downloading the images to the iPads is taking way too much time, and I'm losing sales. Most events would be a minimum of 3000 images.

I'm wondering what options I have for this? I don't need a shopping cart on site, I want a very simple way to create galleries and just show photos with their file names on the iPads.

My web site currently uses a customized MySQL database to sell the photos on line, so I'm wondering, could I do the same by placing another MySQL database on the Mac Mini, and use Safari on the iPads to view photos wirelessly?

iMac (20-inch Early 2008), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Feb 3, 2014 9:25 AM

6 replies

Feb 3, 2014 10:17 PM in response to photoelle

One question is where you're storing the photos, and where the iPads are getting them from.

If you don't have internet access at the site, then where are the images? On the iPads themselves? You're not likely to beat showing images that are on the iPad.

If, on the other hand, you mean there's no broadband connection but the iPads use their LTE/4G connection, then you may be able to beat that by serving them from a local server, but part of the answer to that lies with the software that you're using to show the images - is it flexible enough to allow you to load the images from any HTTP server, for example? or does it assume a specific server?