Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I have 11 messages stuck in Outbox that I tried to send from my MacBook Pro in the past 3 weeks. I recently upgraded to Maverick and prior to that I had NO problems sending emails. I AM able to send emails from my iPhone. I am a novice.

I have 11 messages stuck in "outbox" that I tried to send from my MacBook Pro in the past 3 weeks. I am using gmail. I recently upgraded to Maverick. Prior to that, coincident or nor, I had NO trouble sending emails. I AM able to send emails from my iPhone. I am a novice and all printed "help" info. is Greek to me! Please help.

MacBook Pro

Posted on Feb 6, 2014 11:41 AM

17 replies

Feb 8, 2014 7:46 AM in response to dotann

Except in very rare circumstances it should not be necessary to pay anybody to help you with your Mac.

Here are instructions for my Leopard OS - I assume Mavericks is similar:

1. On Go menu (at top of screen) select Utilities
  2. Double click Keychain Access
  3. Select All items
  4. Highlight an email related item
  5. Hit delete key - or use Edit (at top of screen) > Delete
  6. Repeat for other email related items

When you next use Mail your email provider will ask for your password. Normally once for outgoing email and once for incoming.

Feb 8, 2014 8:00 AM in response to dotann

I'm not sure what you mean by 'stuck'. I've had a problems with Mavericks where it will send an email but leave a copy of it in the outbox (this is an issue with how mail saves intermediary drafts). These messages can just be deleted, because they've already been sent. I've seen problems where one email gets stuck (usually because of an oversized or corrupt attachment) and blocks other emails from being sent. deleting and (if necessary) resending that first stuck email will usually resolve that problem.