Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MainStage 3 - MIDI program change to plug in workaround sought.

Have been trying to find a solution or workaround to this problem for several days, with no luck so far. Appealing to more experienced users in hopes of an answer. For my live performance keyboard rig, I've been using KORE 2 for the last several years. It's stable and elegantly does what I need, but since it has been discontinued by NI, I keep my ears open for possible replacements. Mainstage 3 on the face of it looked like a truly viable alternative, and my initial tests with CPU and memory comparisons (especially when using channel strip aliases) were promising enough to investigate further.

The brick wall I ran into was in trying to get MIDI Program change messages assigned to Kontakt instrument banks, software synths and Guitar Rig. With KORE, it's simplicity itself to assign an initial MIDI program change number to every instance used in a patch, and if I need to change any programs on instances within that patch, to assign a button sending PG increment or decrement messages to that particular instance.

From everything I've read and tried, it seems that Mainstage's only response to MIDI program change is to change Mainstage patches. Any instances used within that patch are completely ignored. This is a HUGE deal breaker. Kontakt instrument bank and Guitar Rig channel strips stay on whatever patch assignment they had on initial launch of Mainstage and changing Mainstage patches has no effect on the patches of the instances.