Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Basic 2012 MacBook Pro+27 or 21 inch Apple Display for graphic intensive apps?

Hey community! this is VitoF3D´s very first post into the Apple Community.

Asking for advice from seasoned -Mac user- architectural renderers, 3d modelers and media artists... or anyone else who can help.

I recently bought a new 2012 Macbook Pro (I say brand new because they had it -in its box- in stock for a year at a very known, -authorized reseller- retail store in Philladelphia) and I would like to get some advice about it.

I am an architect and designer, I work with intensive 3D models, 2D images and plans, 2D 3D animation, sound and video software, mostly well known and mainstream art apps. Sometimes I need to have two or three of these apps open, handling complex models while e-mailing or browsing the web.

I know the Macbook Pro can handle it because I already, (With lots of pacience and a very directed desk fan) have done it with a good old 2007 white Mac Book, that faithfully have delivered the best of renders! Nevertheless, all standards have raised, resolutions, formats and app demands have risen also. (For example I have never worked in HD or Full HD).

Like two years ago I also bought from a friend a late 2011 iMac, with a 27" display, but at the time I found I could not use the intensive apps or work at large because the video card overheated to the point that one day it melted! I had to look for a replacement and now it works again, but I always have to keep in mind that that texting, reading, surfing the web and e-mailing is all that it can handle.

SO THE QUESTION IS: Can my new basic 2012 MacBook Pro's Video Card handle the intensive 3D and 2D work of Architecture, Image Editing and Video Editing if I attach a 27" Thunderbolt or Cinema Display to it?