Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Should I upgrade CPU on MacBook Air for graphic design, and will a MacBook Air last?

I am currently a student in my last year, going to school for graphic design. I am in the process of choosing a new laptop, and have noticed many stories of graphic designers switching a to the MacBook Air line without many hiccups. I have two questions. In order to effectively run Adobe Creative Suite software, excluding video, should I upgrade the CPU or will the 1.3 i5 cut it. I'm also wondering about lasting power for these little machines. I'm not worried about screen real-estate, as external monitors are plentiful. I am worried about needing to upgrade my entire machine in two to three years because of the lack up upgradeability and the increasing rate of software development. Again, I will be mainly focusing on print and web design, so nothing's terribly heavy, but I also can't afford to upgrade machines every two years. What do you all think?

MacBook Air

Posted on Feb 20, 2014 11:14 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 20, 2014 11:19 PM

You cannot upgrade the CPU or RAM on the Air.

The i5 will 'cut it' it just fine. Im running most of CS and some CC Adobe apps just fine .

By 'lasting power' if you mean longevity, the Air has the fewest parts and if taken care of will last just fine

IF by same you mean the battery, if you treat it right you should get 3+ years out of the battery

all batteries however are consumables meant to be replaced eventually due to wear on lithium chemistry from use and charging.

Since you arent using any heavy graphic intense applications you should be fine,

most applications I use will work fine on one of my Macs made in 2007, so..... 😊

Considerations for the long life of your Macbook Air. Handling and environmental care tips

10 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 20, 2014 11:19 PM in response to chrismcolvin