Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Having a problem with SUMIF

I'm new to numbers and I am having a problem with SUMIF. Here is my formula:

=SUMIF(MONTHNAME(MONTH(Checking::Transactions::$B3:$B24)),B1,Checking::Transacti ons::$F3:$F24)

The error says that SUMIF requires that all range arguement are the same size.

This basic, same formula is used on the same sheet and it works just fine ( =SUMIF(Actual Montly Expenses::$Month,B1,Actual Montly Expenses::$Amount) ).

There are 2 differences. My new formual uses data from another sheet for the columns. In the formula where it works, the 2 columns are next to each other, whereas in the formula that doesn't work, the columns are separated by 4 columns. Does this make a difference?

Expenditure

Month

Amount

Insurance

January

$2,000

Trash Collection

January

$406

Lighting

January

$197

Landscaping

January

$479

Legal/Audit/Taxes

January

$80

Snow Removal

January

$1,250

Trash Collection

February

$406

Snow Removal

February

$1,250

Lighting

February

$198

I tried using column header titles, but for some reason, the selected areas are different sizes.

Any suggestions?

User uploaded file

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.1)

Posted on Feb 21, 2014 7:09 AM

16 replies

Feb 21, 2014 1:24 PM in response to Jerrold Green1

Apparently, my post didn't include everything. The example you suggest is really the same as the one I posted that works, just yours uses the explicit columns. The formula that doesn't work is this:

=SUMIF(MONTHNAME(MONTH(Checking::Transactions::Date)),B1,Checking::Transactions: :Debit Amount)

Here is a screen shot of the broken formula and sheet and wasn't in the original post.

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

Message was edited by: DaveH123 The image was embedded. Instead of pasting, I'll use the Insert Image button. Oops, Grab doesn't save images in the format that the discussion likes.