Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Air (13 inch Mid 2012) Battery health under 80 percent

The battery health for my Macbook Air is at 78 percent health after only 282 cycles. Isnt it supposed to remain above 80 percent if under 1000 cycles? I have noticed a drop in the time that it holds charge and my Macbook Air is warning me that I need to service my battery, this isnt normal is it?

User uploaded file

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on Feb 24, 2014 2:09 PM

14 replies

Feb 25, 2014 12:31 PM in response to PlotinusVeritas

I have been travelling for the past 9 months and using it daily, tis means I use it in all kinds of scenarios.

Sometimes I use it on a bus/train and almost fully discharge it then recharge once I reach my hostel.

Sometimes I use it while plugged into the wall, but not always.

When I recharge it it is always in slep mode. I was under the impression that the macbook air was designed to be left in Sleep mode as the longevity of its sleep mode is one of its selling points...

... The scenarios you are describing above are really the only way one would expect to use a laptop arent they?

Feb 25, 2014 12:47 PM in response to SkareMedia

SkareMedia wrote:

When I recharge it it is always in slep mode.

Ah, I see

I was under the impression that the macbook air was designed to be left in Sleep mode

Sleep mode yes, always in sleep AND on power, no

Recharging it in sleep mode is fine, some people however use their notebooks like desktops and BOTH always have it on power and in sleep mode.

to wit:

"Apple does not recommend leaving your portable plugged in all the time."