Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is it worth replacing the motherboard and upgrading to an SSD on my late 2011 iMac?

Hey guys a few months ago I was listening to music on my iMac via headphones and when I took them out the headphone connector broke off and got stuck in the port. Apple said it was going to cost £300 to replace the logic board (motherboard) that's way too much I'm also a student. I've got around that by getting some usb speakers and a usb sound card but I'd like a new motherboard so I can use my headphone socket again. Also my HDD is starting to break (slow down) and sometime soon it's going to stop working. I would like to upgrade to an SSD. I'm using a 21.5inch mid 2011 iMac and I don't know what to do because I haven't got loads of money and I need my iMac. Could you guys please help me out? Thanks 🙂

iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011), OS X Mavericks (10.9.1)

Posted on Mar 5, 2014 3:00 PM

4 replies

Mar 5, 2014 4:06 PM in response to Aztec1998

The idea of upgrading to an SSD had not been recommended by several persons, as there are potential problems in simply replacing the actual HDD; the SSD is another story, and a costly way to get a small capacity drive.

If it were to work OK (against several upgrade warnings & issues resulting from attempts to do so) there could be a gain in speed. However there is a matter of a sensor the computer requires that is in the original type hard disk drive, which is often lacking in replacement HDDs and lacking in SSDs.

Did you have an AppleCare plan in effect on this unit? Apparently not if the Apple people you talked to said there would be a price. Of course AppleCare does not necessarily cover user-caused damages, when there is one.