Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

QuickTime Pro Scripting - Audio Channel Mapping

Does anyone know if there is a way to script audio channel mapping and renaming in QuickTime Pro 7? I deal with a lot of 5.1 audio that needs to be channel mapped and renamed to its specific channel for iTunes uploading. I'm currently doing this task manually in QuickTime Pro, but I'd love to know if there is a possibility to automate this task. I'm new to scripting, and its been very helpful with a lot of my day to day tasks, but I can't seem to figure this one out. Any suggestions would be awesome! Thanks!

Mac Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5)

Posted on Mar 5, 2014 8:33 PM

14 replies

Mar 19, 2014 10:21 AM in response to Millerpmiller

QuickTime scripting is on the outer fringe, not a lot of people do it. On top of that the work you are doing is a bit specialized, not even sure how you would do that from the App (or what you are exactly doing 😀) .

However if you were to explain in a bit of detail your workflow and how you do it in the app and what you have done with Applescript that doesn't work or comes close some help might be offered.

Same to the second poster, however you might want to start your own thread for this to keep things from getting cluttered.

regards

Mar 19, 2014 11:03 AM in response to Frank Caggiano

Workflow:

1. Open a ProRes file in Quicktime Pro 7. (This file is usually a 444 with 8 channels of audio - 5.1 + Stereo)

2. Command J opens the Properties window of the source and displays the settings for the video track as well as all 8 audio tracks.

User uploaded file

3. Manually remap audio channels to match the specific configuration of the mix. Ch.1-Left, Ch.2-Right, Ch.3-Center, Ch.4-LFE Screen, etc.

4. Rename each specific channel in the track naming column.

User uploaded file

5. Save the file as is.