Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Leave color like in AE?

Hello!

I make short films as a hobby with my friends, and there are a few YouTube channels that I make sure to stay up on because they're typically loaded with helpful tips.

I just got done watching one that involved him making his green shirt be the only object with color via using a filter in AE known as "leave color" (The only green in the entire shot was the shirt). He then did the opposite and made his shirt the only B&W object, I forget what the name of the filter he used for that one was.

Thing is...I don't have AE but I do have Motion 5, and I don't recall seeing that filter or anything else in the library. However, I'm by no means an expert. I'd probably give myself like a 4 out of 10 in reference to proficency, ability, and knowledge with it; I'm much more fluid and capable in FCPX and don't use graphic effects too often. This effect, however, is one that I would love to be able to use.

Does anyone know of a similar Motion 5 ability or work around?

Thanks in advance.

Motion 5, Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Mar 12, 2014 6:58 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 12, 2014 2:32 PM

I don't know of a plugin or filter for FCP or Motion that will do this effect, however it is easily done in either application. In Motion duplicate your clip. Add a color filter to the background/original layer to make it black and white. On the duplicate layer add a mask to the object you want to retain its color. Use a tracking behavior on the mask to follow any motion in the clip and your done. If you want the opposite effect ie a B&W object just invert the mask and move the filter to the duplicate layer. If you have a tracking mask such as Slice X for FCP you can easily do the same effect in FCP adding a copy of your clip as an attached clip to the original and applying a tracking mask to it. FCP has a B&W effect you can use.

2 replies