Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iOS 7.1 Volume Down Button Stopped Functioning

On an iPhone 5, I've upgraded to iOS7.1 and now the Volume Down button has ceased to function. Button does not feel wonky or has the phone beed dropped or abused. The Volume Up button works fine; the Volume Down button worked fine before the upgrade. Anyone else?

Posted on Mar 12, 2014 12:37 PM

21 replies

Mar 12, 2014 2:41 PM in response to brad805

Thank you, Brad. I appreciate your suggestions and respectfully don't think they apply here. I am a developer and feel this is a firmware/software issue brought about with iOS7.1 and I'm curious to see if I'm alone on this. The phone is virgin and the button is not wonky. It worked fine up until the recent upgrade. Does not work after the upgrade. To prove my point, I'm thinking I'll wait for the next iOS release.

Mar 14, 2014 10:59 PM in response to yalK

I am in the exact same boat. Phone is in an Otterbox and has had no events other than the recent upgrade to iOS 7.1. No drops, spills, shocks, etc. I removed it from the case and the top/volume up button is still working and feels EXACTLY the same as the non-working volume down button. Volume can be controlled in Settings>Sounds, but I agree that it suspiciously coincided with the upgrade to 7.1. I hope there is a release soon to fix this bug if that is what it is. Anybody else in this boat?

iPhone 5 volume down button side-key doesn't work broken won't function after upgrade to iOS 7.1

Mar 15, 2014 7:06 AM in response to Javamantis