Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I have a macbook pro retina late 2013 13 inch that i want to exchange

I am well passed the return period but after multiple erase and installs, resinstalling mavericks, long chat sessions and phone calls with support I have just about had it with this machine. it freezes, eats all the availbale ram when running very few apps, and hte log/sync files are so long it is absurd. not to mention the trackpad wake problem.

it syncs with other computers on my network even with my firewall up and sharing disabled....nothing works the way it is supposed to (mail, browser, displays look pretty bad too).

I would ideally like to return the machine but i am outside the 14 day period to do so, and now i am going to take it into the store for diagnostic scan and stress test.

does anyone have any tips/comments etc. on what i should ask them while i am there? i am a novice when it comes to OSX and mavericks has been a nightmare for the most part.

in a perfect world I would exchange this machine for a top of the line macbook air 13inch.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.2)

Posted on Mar 13, 2014 1:25 PM

13 replies

Mar 13, 2014 2:35 PM in response to Tim Pickering

My advice is that you be very detailed about the problems you are having. Don't give general descriptions like "it doesn't work right" as they won't be able to reproduce the problem unless you give them something specific. If there is a problem with the system, Apple will replace/repair it (you are still under warranty even if the 14 day return period is over).

Mar 13, 2014 3:51 PM in response to silvergc

Thanks! Yes, it is hard for me to cover all the issues as most have been somewhat minor and related to mavericks and mail/other features that just do not work as well as previous versions....not much you can do about that though.